What the action “Delete” perform?

  • Hello,

    I have a naive question: when using the 404 Monitor, what happens if I delete the items, instead of redirect them? Do they disappear forever or do they come back?

    I’m a little bit confused.

    Thanks,

    Mario

Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Hello,

    Thank you for contacting Rank Math today.

    That screen (the 404 Monitor) is just a log of the 404 errors your site had with some visitors. If you just delete them, the entry will be removed from your log and nothing will happen, so if another visitor goes to that URL, they probably will have the 404 error (unless it was just a temporal issue). In that case, if the issue is still there, the monitor will display again that 404 error.

    Looking forward to helping you. Thank you.

    ​​​​​​

    Thanks for your answer. Do you advise using the 410 redirection code for all the non-existent files or pages or is it better to wait until the 404 errors are not appearing anymore?

    Hello,

    You can use 410 redirection for your deleted pages or a 301 redirection if the deleted pages were indexed and you wish to pass the SEO juice to some other page on your site.

    Hope that helps. If you have any further question(s), please let us know. Thank you.

    Hello,
    thanks for your answer. My 404 pages are mostly relative to wp-content files, i.e. pics. What do I have to do, in that case?

    Hello,

    Since maybe your images were indexed, I would create 301 redirections for them.

    Looking forward to help you.

    Hello,

    Since we did not hear back from you for 15 days, we are assuming that you found the solution. We are closing this support ticket.

    If you still need assistance or any other help, please feel free to open a new support ticket, and we will be more than happy to assist.

    Thank you.

Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)

The ticket ‘What the action “Delete” perform?’ is closed to new replies.