Remove 404 record upon redirection creation

  • Is there a way to automatically remove a 404 record upon the creation of a redirection?

    In the 404 monitor, it’s really nice having the “Redirect” option that automatically loads in the URL in question that needs redirecting, but after I create the redirection, that same URL still shows in the 404 monitor.

    It would seem to me, this could end up being a recipe for disaster in creating multiple redirects for the same URL(s)?

    Thanks!

Viewing 6 replies - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Hi Brian,

    Thanks for getting in touch with us.

    Old 404s will still show up in the log but once you create a redirect – the URL will no longer show up in the 404 Monitor because the 404 link will no longer work.

    Once you create a redirection, you can clear the log or delete the link from the 404 monitor manually.

    Hope that helps and please do not hesitate to let us know if you need our assistance with anything else.

    Thanks for the reply–I totally understand what you’re saying, however it wasn’t quite the question unless I’m misunderstanding.

    Our site has been around a very long time so we have LOTS of 404s from super old links. When I build a redirect for a specific 404 and then go back to the 404 list, the link/404 I just created a redirect for still shows in the 404 log. At the risk of creating a duplicate redirect, I’ve been going through and deleting each link from the 404 log after each redirect I make so I don’t overlap.

    I was hoping that when I clicked the “redirect” link under a link in the 404 log, that after the redirect was created, that 404 link would disappear from the log instantly.

    Hello,

    Thank you for contacting Rank Math today.

    I am afraid that this is the default working of the 404 monitor. I would however be happy to pass this on to our dev team as a feature request so that your suggested workflow can be considered in our future development roadmap.

    Looking forward to helping you. Thank you.

    ​​​​​​

    Thanks very much! LOVE the plugin! (Yoast convert)

    Would be nice to have this function for me too.

    Before i use other plugin and there was a option in 404 list when adding a redirect: “Delete all logs for this entry”

    • This reply was modified 2 weeks, 6 days ago by Ralf Reymann.

    Hi Ralf,

    We have noted your feedback. We will see what we can do about that.

    Thank you.

Viewing 6 replies - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)

The ticket ‘Remove 404 record upon redirection creation’ is closed to new replies.