Error 404 on post_tag-sitemap.xml

  • I continue to get an 404 error when trying to generate post_tag-sitemap.xml. For comparison purposes I reverted back to yoast and was able to generate a sitemap for post tags and other custom taxonomies. Unfortunately, when RankMath is enabled a 404 error is generated? 🤔

    Additionally, I disable all plugins with the exception of Rank Math and im still unable to generate a post_tag-sitemap.xml?

    I’ve posted this on the facebook group and was asked to generate a ticket here.

    Looking forward to solving this issue.

    • This topic was modified 1 year, 2 months ago by Angolan Made.
Viewing 6 replies - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Hello Angolan,

    Thank you for contacting Rank Math today.

    Once you activate Rank Math and create a sitemap, head over to your WordPress admin area and go to Settings > Permalinks and hit the “Save Changes” button once even if you didn’t make any changes on the page.

    This should normally fix the issue.

    If that doesn’t help please leave us your WP admin access in sensitive data field.

    Looking forward to help you.

    Thanks for your reply, unfortunately, your suggested steps don’t seem to fix the issue.

    Unfortunately, this doesn’t only happen with post_tag-sitemap.xml but with other taxonomies as well.


    I checked your settings.

    Since you have noindexed all the tags, the sitemap won’t generate and thus the 404 error on tags’s sitemap page.

    I went ahead and updated your settings to not to generate the Tags sitemap.

    Hope that helps. Please let us know if you have any further questions.

    Thank you.


    Thank you for the quick reply. Unfortunately, your response is not very clear nor did it help much in solving my problem.

    Checked my site and was unable to find any traces of noindexed tags?

    How did you check for this? And if so how we remove those tags to get post_tag-sitemap.xml to generate?

    At this point, I just simply need to generate post_tag-sitemap.xml, I’m able to do this effortlessly and easily with either the Yoast free or premium plugin.

    I would certainly appreciate your help in getting this feature to work correctly on our website.

    Okay, problem fixed!
    I reset the plugin settings and managed to fix it.

    Thanks for your help.

    Hi Angolan,

    I am so glad to hear that.

    Let me know if you need help with anything else.

Viewing 6 replies - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this ticket.