Could not process sitemap ‘’: {1}

  • Hi there, my problem is that I get the “Could not process sitemap ‘’: {1}” error message and that the plugin will not update the sitemaps I’ve submitted to Google. If I open in my browser, I see the sitemaps however (the links are not up-to-date however). I successfully added three sitemaps to Google. Under Search Console in your plugin I can see a lot of SEO data, only the Sitemaps tab seems to be unable to establish a connection with Google.

    Can you help me here? Thanks, Frank

Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Hi Frank,

    Thanks for getting in touch.

    Could you please check the following:
    1. Is the sitemap working fine in your browser? You can check that by going domain(.)com/sitemap_index.xml

    If the sitemap is working fine, you can try validating it on this link:

    If the validation works, please move to the second point.

    2. Have you verified the correct version of your website on Google? Please check if you have verified the www (or non-www) and https (or http) version of your website. If there is a mismatch, please fix that.

    3. Finally, make sure you have cleared the cache and excluded Google bot from seeing a cached version of your sitemap.

    If you have followed these and you are able to view your sitemap without any problem, then Rank Math is outputting your sitemap correctly and the error must be coming from Google. You can try and use a 3rd party sitemap plugin to confirm. Just make sure you have disabled the Sitemap module of Rank Math in WordPress Dashboard > Rank Math > Dashboard when using a 3rd party sitemap plugin.

    If the other plugin works, please do let us know.

    Thank you.

    Unfortunately, the plugin still doesn’t connect to Google. Could you recommend a 3rd party sitemap plugin with which I can test the connection to Google? Best, Frank


    You can test with, after that let us know if it works with that plugin since in that case, we will have to take a deeper look in your site and how Rank Math is working there.

    Looking forward to help you.

    Hi, just to let you know: XML Sitemap Generator works perfectly. I’ve changed URLs / added new products and the new URLs are automatically added to the Search Console ….
    Best, Frank


    Thank you for your feedback.

    We are glad that is working for you. I do hope you have Rank math sitemap module disabled in Rank math dashboard to avoid any conflicts.

    If you have any further question(s), please let us know. Thank you.

Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this ticket.