Can I change the default URL of the sitemap?

#88911
  • Can I change the default URL of the sitemap?

    I actually have a problem with my Google Search Console. I have installed an SEO from another vendor, that the URL of the site map is exactly the same as RankMath SEO, and have it uninstalled a year ago while changing to another SEO. However, after I have uninstalled the first SEO, I have forgotten to remove the sitemap from Google Search Console.

    Google has flagged the URL for site map from the first SEO as “could not be read” since 6/4/19.

    Now I don’t know how to tell Google to reread from the same URL again. I have already resubmitted the sitemap 3 days ago, and I don’t know what else should I do in this situation.

    Can anyone share me some idea?

    Thanks in advance!

Viewing 8 replies - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • I fixed my problem by simply remove the “index.php” from the “Permalink Setting” and have successfully resubmitted my sitemap to Google!

    🙂

    Now is simply waiting for Google to crawl the new sitemap.

    Hello,

    Those are good news! Then, do you have any other questions? Or do you want us to close this thread? In any case, we will be here if you have any other questions or issues in the future.

    Looking forward to help you.

    The Site Map indicated it have been indexed successfully. However, it have error (Sitemap is HTML) on all xml underneath except the category-sitemap itself.

    Note: I have enabled 404 error redirection to homepage(Static page). Does it means I just have wait for it to refresh?

    Sitemaps read
    Sitemap Last read Status Discovered URLs
    /category-sitemap.xml Oct 2, 2020 Success 10
    /page-sitemap.xml Sep 26, 2020 1 error 0
    /post-sitemap.xml Oct 1, 2020 1 error 0
    /post_tag-sitemap.xml Sep 27, 2020 1 error 0
    /wpdmpro-sitemap.xml Sep 28, 2020 1 error 0

    Thanks in advance!

    Hello,

    That error is usually due to your site having a cache plugin and it is caching the sitemaps.

    Usually you should add the following exclusions to the cache:

    /(.*)sitemap(.*).xml
    /(.*)sitemap.xsl

    Looking forward to help you.

    Hi Alberto,

    I tried but still not working. Could you help me to have a look? Thanks!

    From Google console, I can now see that they have just reaccess to the site map but still have the same error.

    Thanks in advance!

    • This reply was modified 5 months ago by Acapturer.

    Hello,

    Could you please check the following:
    1. Is the sitemap working fine in your browser? You can check that by going domain(.)com/sitemap_index.xml

    If the sitemap is working fine, you can try validating it on this link: https://www.xml-sitemaps.com/validate-xml-sitemap.html

    If the validation works, please move to the second point.

    2. Have you verified the correct version of your website on Google? Please check if you have verified the www (or non-www) and https (or http) version of your website. If there is a mismatch, please fix that.

    3. Finally, make sure you have cleared the cache and excluded Google bot from seeing a cached version of your sitemap.

    If you have followed these and you are able to view your sitemap without any problem, then Rank Math is outputting your sitemap correctly and the error must be coming from Google. You can try and use a 3rd party sitemap plugin to confirm. Just make sure you have disabled the Sitemap module of Rank Math in WordPress Dashboard > Rank Math > Dashboard when using a 3rd party sitemap plugin.

    If the other plugin works, please do let us know.

    Thank you.

    Hi there,

    I work out the reason. It is because of after I changed the url by removing “index.php”, I have not updated the roboot.txt, which caused google failed to index.

    After I fixed the roboot.txt and follow by resubmit all those site map with error, google managed to discover all posts.

    I confirm this case can be closed.

    Thanks for your help and guidance. It is very helpful!

    You guy have provided a very good service.

    Hello,

    We are super happy that this resolved your issue. If you have any other questions in the future, know that we are here to help you.

    If you don’t mind me asking, could you please leave us a review (if you haven’t already) on https://wordpress.org/support/plugin/seo-by-rank-math/reviews/#new-post about your overall experience with Rank Math? We appreciate your time and patience.

    If you do have another question in the future, please feel free to create a new forum topic, and it will be our pleasure to assist you again.

    Thank you.

Viewing 8 replies - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this ticket.