Being charged US sales tax?

  • Hi there. i’m interested in signing up for an annual plan (Pro, $59 USD).

    But when I am billed, I notice that a US sales tax is applied to the sale.

    I’m based in Canada, therefore confused why US sales tax is being charged. Usually it’s omitted.

    For comparison, Yoast’s checkout applies $0 sales tax upon purchase when my region is set to Canada.

    Can you confirm if there’s a way to update my region and fix this prior to purchase?


Viewing 7 replies - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Hello,

    Thanks for contacting us, and sorry for any inconvenience that might have been caused due to that.

    As we’ve partnered with FastSpring, a global full-service SaaS payments platform, Rank Math doesn’t handle transactions directly. So, If you want to update or customize the invoice as per your requirements, I would like to suggest you to get in touch with our payment provider, FastSpring, and I hope they’ll be able to assist you with this.

    Here’s how you can update information in invoice:

    You can use the following contact form:

    Also as you were charged during the purchase procedure, you can ask for a refund of the VAT value directly from FastSpring here:

    If you’re eligible for a refund, it should be processed by FastSpring without any hassle.

    Hope that helps, and please do not hesitate to let us know if you need our assistance with anything else.

    Thank you.

    Thanks for the info. I’ve investigated this process, but it is long and tedious. But some feedback for you: offloading this work onto customers isn’t ideal. And the clunky payment process has made me reconsider purchasing RankMath against its competitors (e.g. Yoast).


    Sorry for the confusion. Please make sure to select your country as Canada in the top right corner of the checkout page:

    You should not be charged tax after that.

    Let us know how that goes. Looking forward to helping you.

    My location is set to Candada.

    US tax is still being applied.

    I believe your system is set up incorrectly.

    Ok. I figured out the issue.

    The taxes are applied UNTIL a GST number is entered.


    I’ve paid for a pro subscription.

    Can you please permanently remove my credit card from your payment system?

    I do not wish for the details to be stored, but it will not allow me to remove the card myself.


    Unfortunately, we cannot delete it from our end as that is controlled by our payment provider, FastSpring.

    You can get in touch with them about this situation:

    Don’t hesitate to get in touch if you have any other questions.

Viewing 7 replies - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this ticket.